Hip Hop

Big K.R.I.T. Cadillactica Album Review


As Mississippi rapper Big K.R.I.T. geared up for his second album release titled Cadillactica, fans and critics alike pondered the musical direction Krizzle would take next. Live From the Underground failed to live up to the lofty expectations listeners placed upon it, as Krit’s music began to follow a predictable pattern. Progression was desired, something Cadillactica aims to appease.

Cadillactica is the wild ride through an imaginary planet within Krit’s mind. The planet itself is symbolic of life, with Krit rolling his candy painted caddy through the geographic ebbs and flows of existence. Even more so, it is a personal album about the hardships of growing old. Gone is the “soul food” we are accustomed to as youngsters and in comes the struggles of carving your own path within a very different looking society. Relationship struggles, societal issues and cultural shortcomings all rotate within Krit’s mind, helping shape the perception of Cadillactica from its creation to the destruction of the planet. Without further ado, a track by track breakdown of Cadillactica. 

1. Kreation (Intro):

This song is literally the birth of both the planet Cadillactica and the creative process within Krit’s mind, a soothing and soulful introduction into the rapper’s world. Krit’s pursuit of perfection is echoed throughout the track, something he seeks for both the planet he has created as well as his music. Strong intro.

2. Life

Krit oozes passion in this haunting anthem, searching for deeper meanings in both his own life and the life of the planet he has created. Krit also makes it clear that while life may be hard, he appreciates the chance to live it. Solid track with Krit showing off his ability to tackle deep concepts yet keep it entertaining.

3. My Sub Part 3 (Big Bang):

Banger. Krit brings all of the down south swagger on this one, finding himself chanting methodically atop of hard hitting bass. This song reflects the Big Bang explosion, something Krit uses as a celebration of his beloved trunk rattling bass.

4. Cadillactica:

One of the best tracks on the album. The intricate, yet knocking instrumentation on this track truly brings out the best in Krit lyrically, as he tears apart each verse he spits. This is a track where Krit aims to show off his lyrical ability and confidence as a rapper, taking you inside his world. The interlude leading up to the Soul Food track is amazing, as a Cadillactica fast food joint tries to sell Krit the “fast food” of the new generation.

5. Soul Food (Featuring Raphael Saadiq):

Standout track. This song is truly incredible. Under smooth instrumentation, Krit brings listeners back to the old days of childhood, where living was easy and “soul food” represented the comfort of life. Yet this feeling of protection begins to disappear and the “soul food” begins to rot as you grow older, exposing you to the hardships of the new generation you are a part of. Very touching track, as Krit’s ability to be introspective and incorporate concepts truly makes him a special artist in these moments. Raphael Saadiq blends in perfectly on the hook.

6. Pay Attention (featuring Rico Love): 

You knew Krit had to make one for the strip clubs. This stripper anthem is one for the clubs and shows Krit’s progression in making marketable yet respectable singles.

7. King of the South:

“I’m here bitches and I’m not going anywhere.” That is essentially what Krit is saying on this southern banger. Krit’s brazen lyrics and viscous flows serve to stake his claim for the crown. Even more so, Krit is sending a message that he is underappreciated and deserves more recognition than what he has been getting. This song is country to the core and one of the most aggressive songs on the album.

8. Mind Control (featuring E-40 and Wiz Khalifa):

This soulful beat finds Krit trying to get into the head of a woman and seduce her, something he croons out on the hook. Decent track, although both E-40 and Wiz Khalifa share forgettable verses.

9. Standby (Interlude):

This jazzy instrumental has Krit attempting to navigate the hardships he is facing, while sending the message to always continue trying. Meaningful interlude.

10. Do you love me? (featuring Mara Hruby):

Krit had to dedicate a song to his one true love, his cadillac. Real life girlfriend Mara Hruby serves as Krizzle’s car on this soulful track, singing to him on the hook as Krit raps of his appreciation for all aspects of his whip. Really smooth, southern track, something Krit is very comfortable making.

11. Third Eye:

Very melodic anthem, as Krit’s search continues for love and relationships. Even more so, this song shows where he sees his future heading and represents the visions of where he believes his life could go.

12. Mo Better Cool (featuring Devin the Dude, Bun B and Big Sant):

Funky instrumentation has Krit flexing his confidence with the ladies all over this record, with Devin the Dude practically floating on the chorus. Bun B delivers a solid guest verse and Big Sant shows he embodies Krit’s sound.

13. Angels

Very soft sounding song, with Krit detailing his confusion as to the type of person he will be. He explores good vs. evil on this track, using the allusion of bad acting angels throughout the track. This song shows Krit trying to persevere despite all the questions he has about what is going on around him. Solid track.

14. Saturdays=Celebration(featuring Jamie N Commons)

Very vintage sounding record, with the message being to not let your sorrows bring you down. Blues rocker and folk artist Jamie N Commons brings a very unique sound to this track, making it a very interesting combination of artists.

15. Lost Generation(featuring Lupe Fiasco)

Finally comes the destruction of the planet Cadillactica to round out the project, but with the reminder within Krit’s mind that “We will create again”. This concluding track has Krit and Lupe playing good vs. evil in regards to the perceptions of the “Lost Generation”. Krit is on the good side, stressing that living the right way and avoiding temptation is the best course of action. Lupe then negates this, stating getting to the top by any means is the motive and showing total disregard for life. Really cool concept to go out on, as both rappers equally thrive on this banging conclusion to Cadillactica.

Big K.R.I.T. has always been a talented rapper with much to offer. His songs often carry deeper meaning and his passion resonates with listeners. But some of Krit’s recent projects lacked that next step in progression that would take him to new heights. In Cadillactica, Krit has taken that next step. Handing over just a smidgen of his creative control does wonders for this project, as the addition of other production credits only enhances Krit’s brilliance. Every song seems a little more put together, Krit’s flows a little smoother and the album as a whole a little more concise. Cadillactica, both the planet and the train of thought racing through Krizzle’s mind, is a galactic adventure worth exploring.

How real was this album? 9.1/10


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s